Board of Directors

The TTAO Board of Directors is made up of 10 Members with the following roles: Chair, Chair Elect – Adjudicator Training, Past Chair – Awards, Communications Director, Treasurer, Treasurer Elect/Historian, Communications Director-Elect, and 3 Director at Large Positions.

Function of the Board of Directors

Review adjudicator and contest manager evaluations
Nominate adjudicators to UIL for area/region/state
Govern the non-profit’s financial expenditures
Conduct the general business of TTAO

 Meet the Current Board

Dr. Carrie Klypchak – TTAO Chair

Dr. Carrie Klypchak currently serves as the Director of Theatre Graduate Studies and an Associate Professor of Acting and Directing at Texas A&M University – Commerce. She is also a member of the award-winning Capital T Theatre in Austin. Dr. Klypchak is a New York, conservatory-trained, professional actress, a professional and collegiate director, an active teaching artist, and a published performance scholar. In 2011, she was recognized as a certified Meisner Acting Teacher in the United States; in 2013, she was named TETA’s University Educator of the Year; and in 2012, 2013, and 2016, she was honored to serve as a UIL OAP State Meet judge. In years past, Dr. Klypchak proudly served as an active member of the Standards and Practices and Administrative Committees of the Adjudicators’ Organization, and she has more recently served as a board member of TTAO. She also formerly served as the Assistant Dean of the College of Humanities, Social Sciences, and Arts at Texas A&M University-Commerce, the Vice President of TETA’s College/University Section, the Coordinator of TETA’s Scholars Debut Papers Project, and the Founder and Coordinator of TETA’s first Academic Symposium. Dr. Klypchak has participated in the UIL OAP system as an actor, director, clinician, and judge for many years and considers it a privilege to be part of such an important educational experience and an honor to be nominated to serve TTAO.

Craig Hertel – TTAO Chair-Elect

Craig Hertel has directed over 25 one-act plays–including six State Champions–has served as chair of UIL’s OAP Advisory Committee, and has been on the State Board of Texas Thespians. He has been a Contest Manager many times, including at the State Meet, and has directed many times at the college level (including ACTF) and for community theatre. He has also been an Academic Coordinator, guiding his school to 14 State Academic Championships.

Cathy Huvar – TTAO Communications Director

Taught speech and drama at Wharton County Junior College for fifteen years and was theatre director for ten years. She holds a BS in Theatre from Southwest Texas State University and a MA in Theatre from Stephen F. Austin State University. Cathy has taught and directed theatre on the high school, junior high school and college levels for 40 years she has been a critic judge for nearly 30 years having judged at all levels. Cathy is currently working in Katy ISD. You may contact Cathy at:

Rachel Mattox – TTAO Treasurer

Rachel’s background includes:  MFA, Directing, University of Houston; BFA, Theatre Education, Acting/Dance concentration, University of Texas, Austin. Actress/Dancer w/ International Theatre Ensemble, Berlin Germany, and with Ashland,Oregon Shakespeare Festival. Theatre teacher/director for over 30 years: Taylor H.S. in Katy I.S.D.; Spring Branch H.S.;St. Agnes Academy; Hempstead H. S.; University of Houston. 11 plays taken to state meet 3 champions, 2 others placed. Conducted many acting/directing workshops for TETA; former UIL OAP Advisory Committee member and chair. 2005 High School Educator of the Year for TETA. Recipient of Sponsor Excellence Award (Denius) from UIL. Director for High School Theatre Workshop at University of Texas; Professional and Community Theatre actress and director in the Houston area for many years, including currently. Rachel is the current Treasurer of Texas Educational Theatre Association. Term ends January, 2017.  You may contact Rachel at:

Billy Dragoo – TTAO Treasurer-Elect/Historian

Rick Garcia – TTAO Director-at-Large

Deb Shaw – TTAO Director-at-Large

Jill Ludington – TTAO Communication Director-Elect